To the Basement and Back

Looking for something in the basement this morning
I noticed once state-of-the-art equipment I’ll never use again,
which reminded me
of other phantoms that haunt my nether world,
paint that no longer adorns our walls,
gadgets whose use I no longer know,
the too-warm sheepskin coat I never wear,
still-good suitcases
supplanted by newer ones that won my favor,
books I’ll almost certainly never read again, nor lend,
a book I was going to return but never did
which reminded me in turn
of friends I meant to call,
but weeks turned into months
and months into years,
and I came back upstairs
bearing the baggage of those years.
(13 April 2002)

The poems are in topical series, the first and current series being “Memories”.


Response

  1. consinger Avatar
    consinger

    Oh Dick. This is my life!😳😩

    <

    div>

    +1 312 315 5599

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started